Uploaded image for project: 'XNAT'
  1. XNAT
  2. XNAT-6929

User-directed re-enabling email lost conditional for handling auto-enabling setting

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Critical
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • 1.8.4
    • 1.8.4
    • None
    • None
    • XNAT 2021-Q4 Sprint 2
    • Rank:
      0|0hzyc1:i
    • XNAT 2021-Q4 Sprint 2

    Description

      This is similar to XNAT-6928, except it's for the "user-directed re-enabling" workflow. Just as in XNAT-6928 (via the exact same setting, too), when a user "reverifies" (more on that later) their account, whether or not the account needs further admin approval is configurable. The previous email template reflected that:

          #if ($user.isEnabled())
              <p>After being disabled due to inactivity, the owner of this account has completed the email verification process to show that they are still the proper account owner. This user account is now no longer disabled due to inactivity and they can access the site again. </p>
              <p>The <a href="$server/app/action/DisplayItemAction/search_value/$user.login/search_element/xdat:user/search_field/xdat:user.login">verified user account <b>$user.login</b></a> has been enabled.</p>
          #else
              <p>After being disabled due to inactivity, the owner of this account has completed the email verification process to show that they are still the proper account owner. This user account is now no longer disabled due to inactivity, but their account has not yet been manually enabled by a site administrator. You, or another admin, will need to do this before they can access the site. </p>
              <p>You can review and enable <a href="$server/app/action/DisplayItemAction/search_value/$user.login/search_element/xdat:user/search_field/xdat:user.login">the verified user account <b>$user.login</b></a>.</p>
          #end
      

      The new template makes the assumption that autoenabling is always on:

      fter being disabled due to inactivity, the owner of this account has completed the email verification process to show that they are still the proper account owner. This user account is now no longer disabled due to inactivity and they can access the site again.
      </p><p> The LOGIN_LINK USER_LOGIN has been enabled.</p>
      


      Note: triggering this workflow in dev/test environments is annoying. If you're on your local system, you can do this, but keep in mind it will disable tons of accounts:

      1. Create a non-admin account, log into the account, and log out.
      2. Go to the site admin UI (Administer > Site Administration)
      3. Go to the "Security" section
      4. Set "User Inactivity Lockout" to "5 minutes"
      5. Set "Inactivity Lockout Schedule" to "0 * * * * *"
      6. Wait 5-6 minutes and the account should get disabled.

      Attachments

        Activity

          People

            radiologics_ian Ian Gauthier
            moore.c@wustl.edu Charlie Moore
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

            Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved: